

NOTICE OF HIRE – EMPLOYMENT STATUS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF WAGE RATE(S)

Notice o	of Hire (Check only one)	
☐ At Hire ☐ Current Employee ☐ Annual	I–Current Date □ Change in pay rate(s) or payday	
Effective D	Date:/	
Section 1		
Employer	Employee	
Company Name:	Employee Name:	
DBA:	Physical Address:	
Permanent Address:	City: State: Zip Code:	
Street Line 2:	State 21p code	
City: State: Zip Code:		
Mailing Address: Same as Physical Address	Mailing Address: ☐ Same as Physical Address	
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,		
Street Line 2:	Street Line 2:	
City: State: Zip Code:	City: State: Zip Code:	
Phone: ()	Phone: ()	
Secti		
Pay Frequen	cy and Payday	
Pay Frequency:	Designated Pay Day:	
(Weekly, bi-weekly, semi-monthly, monthly, etc.)	(Day of week when wages are payable/available)	
Secti	on 3	
Allowances Claimed As Part of Wages: □ None, or:		
□ Tips \$ per hour		
□ Meals \$ per meal		
□ Lodging \$ per		
□ Other \$ per		
Carting 4		
Section 4		
Tipped Employees		
minimum wage"), provided that the employee act between the hourly wage paid and the DC minimu	e paid by any employer to an employee who receives gratuities ("tipped ually receives gratuities in an amount at least equal to the difference m wage shall be as follows: 2018: \$3.89; July 1, 2019: \$ 4.45; and July 1, 2020: \$ 5.00	
	e must be retained by the employee, except that this provision shall not among employees who customarily receive gratuities.	
<u>Tip Pool Policy: (Explain if applicable)</u>		

	Section 5
Basis of Wage Payment	
□ Minimum Wage: July 1, 2016: \$11.50; July 1, 2017: \$12.50; July 1, 2018: \$13.25; July 1, 2019: \$14.00; and July 1, 2020: \$15.00	
□ Living Wage □ Living Wage Exempt □ Employer Determined Wage Rate	
Pay Basis: (hourly, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission)	
□ Hourly	☐ Multiple Rates or Basis (for each type of basis)
Rate of Pay: per hour	Rate of Pay: per Overtime Rate:
Overtime Rate of Pay* per hour	Rate of Pay: per Overtime Rate: Rate of Pay: per Overtime Rate:
 Overtime Pay Exemption for bona fide Administrative Executive Professional 	*No employer shall employ any employee for a workweek that is longer than 40 hours, unless the employee receives compensation for employment in excess of 40 hours at a rate not less than 1 ½ times the regular rate at which the employee is employed.
Section 6	
□ Prevailing Wage Rate (if Applicable)	
Prevailing Rate Jobs: Your rate of pay will be the posted rate for the classification(s) listed.	
Classification 1:	Prevailing Rate:
Classification 2:	Prevailing Rate:
Classification 3:	Prevailing Rate:
Section 7	
The Department of Employment Services, Office of Wage and Hour (OWH) is the agency charged with enforcement of District wage and hour laws. OWH can be contacted by telephone at 202-671-1880 or via email at owh.ask@dc.gov . The office is located at 4058 Minnesota Avenue, NE, Suite 3600, Washington, D.C. 20019. OWH's office hours are Monday-Thursday 8:30am-4:30pm and Fridays 9:30am-4:30pm.	
Section 8	
Employee Acknowledgement: By signing below, I acknowledge that I have received the foregoing information regarding my pay and my Employer. I have- informed my employer that my primary language is: Check one: English I have been given this pay notice in English.	
Other Language I have been given this pay notice in English only, because Office of Wage-Hour does not yet offer a pay notice form in my primary language. Employee's Signature:	

The Department of Employment Services provides templates for several common types of pay agreements including dual language notices and acknowledgements in English and Spanish. If any other languages are needed, please contact the Office of Wage-Hour at 202-671-1880. Employers may create their own notices, use or adapt the notice provided by The Department of Employment Services, so long as:

- The required information appears in English and the employee's primary language
- The employee receives a copy
- The employee signs an acknowledgment of receipt and identifies their primary language to the employer
- The employer keeps a copy of the notice and acknowledgement form

The Instructional Guide of how to complete this notice is found below:

Instructional Guide

Notice Given

Indicate the reason the form is being provided to the employee.

Section 1

Employer and Employee

Complete all fields.

Section 2

Pay Frequency and Pay Day

Indicate the frequency (e.g. – weekly, bi-weekly, etc.) for when regularly scheduled wage payments will be paid and also indicate the specific payday.

Section 3

Allowances Claimed as Part of Wages

Indicate any allowances claimed as part of the minimum wage including tips, meals, and/or lodging allowances.

Section 4

Tipped Employees

This section provides tipped employees the required notice under § 32-1003(f).

Note: Employers should also provide the company's tip pool policy in this section or as an attachment.

Section 5

Basis of Wage Payment

Employer must specify rather the employee is paid minimum wage, living wage (or living wage exempt) or if the wage rate is an employer determined rate above minimum wage.

Specify the basis as hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission.

Provide the actual rate for each type of basis the employee will be paid.

Note: Employers must also provide employees with their overtime rate for each basis paid or given notice that they are exempt from overtime. (Specify the reason for the exemption is for bona fide Administrative, Executive or Professional)

Section 6

Employees Paid Based on Prevailing Rates or other Jobs.

Complete this section when the employee will be paid a prevailing wage rate such as those specified under the Davis Bacon Act or the Service Contract Act.

Employers must specify the classification(s) the employee will work and the related Wage Rate and any Fringe Benefit applicable. Also, explain any overtime rates that will be paid for the work performed over 40 hours in a work week under each prevailing rate.

Section 7

According to WTPAA, information about how to contact the designated enforcement agency for concerns about safety, wage and hour, or discrimination is to be on this notice.

Section 8

Employee Acknowledgement

The employee must acknowledge that they have disclosed their primary language by checking one of the two boxes and that the employee has received the form by signing and dating the form.

Note: Employees have a right to receive this notice in a language other than English but only for those languages for which the DOES Office of Wage-Hour has developed its own dual-language notice. Notices will be available from Office of Wage-Hour in English and Spanish. If you need the forms translated in other languages please contact our office at 202-671-1880.

If an employee refuses to sign the notice an employer should still give the notice to the employee and note the employee's refusal on its copy of the notice.